Aquageek's 29G Reef

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

aquageek

AC Members
Feb 27, 2011
Real Name
John
Hello all! This is my first foray into Saltwater, I've only done FW/planted in the past. I setup a 29G Coralife BioCube on my desk at work, no idea what I am doing and I am rolling with the punches lol.

We filled it up with treated tap water to get the cycle going (I know, I know) but for water changes we will make use of the office's treated water service. Currently on like day 5 or so, so still pretty early in to it. Everything is pretty much stock BioCube. I recently heard about the InTank media baskets and such for the BioCubes... I am new to salt water so this stuff is all still new to me but it looks cool! May look at adding that in the future (will be messy but oh well). Still trying to get a good aquascape going, so the pics are not the final scape. Any suggestions, tips, or criticisms are welcome.

Couple of quick questions:

During the cycle, how much light should I be putting in? Currently I have it set for 12 hours.
What should my temps be at? In the mornings it around 78, and by end of day its 80, is this too warm?

What I've Got:

Coralife BioCube 29G
Stock lighting (PCs)
Stock Pump (Not sure on this)
Hydor Nano 240
Top Fin 150W Heater
Cheap hydrometer (will be getting a refractometer soon)
Cheap digital thermometer
Cheap timers for lights

22 lbs live rock
20 lbs live sand

Thanks for reading!

IMG_20130111_171856_371[6].jpgIMG_20130115_162203_236[1].jpgIMG_20130115_162213_054[1].jpg

IMG_20130111_171856_371[6].jpg IMG_20130115_162203_236[1].jpg IMG_20130115_162213_054[1].jpg

greech

AC Moderators
May 13, 2009
Tallahassee, FL
Real Name
Graham