Using thermocol box for breeding angelfish

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

krishnendu

Registered Member
Sep 10, 2023
I am happy to join here and I am having some questions to discuss with you friends
I am very new in breed angel fish
I am having some glass aquariums and some thermocol boxes and I am using both of them for breeding angelfish but unfortunately the fries are dying after 4 - 5 days of hatching can you please help me in this matter while i am feeding them newly hatched brine shrimps every day 3 to 4 times a day. Thanks

fishorama

AC Members
Jun 28, 2006
SF Bay area, CA
I'm sorry, I don't know what a thermocol box is. Can you post a pic?

I have had angels breed a couple times with mixed success. In addition to feeding tiny foods, you need to be doing large water changes every day to remove uneaten food, poo...& dead fry. Sorry, that is going to happen. I would remove the parents after several days or a week+. Watch them closely, they both might not be good parents. Males are less good at fry care than females IME.

A sponge filter or sponge prefilter can offer fry feeding area. Last time I accidentally had angels breed the parents carefully gathered up fry & spit them into the filter intake, yikes! It was distressing to watch but I didn't want to raise fry at that time.

Apr 2, 2002
New York
Have read here. This was a key for me when I had angels spawn. But I had 100s of eggs in a spawn and that was way more than I could handle and why I breed y smaller Hypancistrus now, https://fins.actwin.com/fish/species/angelfish.html