Red marks on gold fin ram

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Syl

AC Members
Nov 20, 2021
Hi all,

I'm in a spot of trouble with my favourite fish.

He hasn't eaten in the last three days, and spends most of his time in this one spot near the floor.

I'm very new to fish, and don't know what to do. Could some please help me out with what's going wrong?

Parametres:
0-0.1 Ammonia (API liquid test kit shows a slight tinge of green, but goes yellow after an hour.)
0 Nitrites
10-20ppm Nitrates
25-26C/77-79F

130L/34gal long
Oase Biomaster 350

Other fish:
8 zebra danios
3 dwarf gourami
5 kuhli loaches

The tank has been cycled since July. I've been struggling with the Ammonia reading. Most days there's a tinge of green, but definitely not 0.25. Some days it shows as 0.
IMG_20211120_182915.jpg

NoodleCats

AC Members
Feb 26, 2020
Canada
Real Name
Casscats
Camera Used
My phone (Samsung 22)
The red rim to the fun seems to be natural Colouration...

However the behaviour would be that he's lethargic likely due to being kept too cold!

German blue rams (which a gold ram is just a colour form of these) need temperatures 82-86F to stay healthy longterm.

But thats too hot for your other fish, danios like it cold.

What I'd suggest is setting up a second tank, a 20 gallon is fine, for the ram and perhaps a group of green neon tetras (not normal neons, look for the *species* called green neon) or cardinal tetras as tankmates.

Another thought is dwarf gouramis can be bullies with other fish as they feel like, varies among each dwarf who they like and who they hate, he's possibly also bullied by your dwarf gourami or at least feels threatened by him. So another reason would be good to get him his own setup.

Syl

AC Members
Nov 20, 2021
However the behaviour would be that he's lethargic likely due to being kept too cold!