Please help me and my fishy

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

vikingzen

Registered Member
Dec 4, 2002
Visit site
Hi-
I'm fairly new at aquarium keeping, so please bear with me...
I have a 3 gallon Eclipse aquarium (carbon filter and bio filter) with a betta and the small cories. I've had the betta since Sept., and the cories are new inhabitants- just arrived a week ago.
Sometime ago I had a problem with planaria, which I have since managed to keep under control (haven't seen any around). I figured I was feeding my betta too much flakey food that just lodged in the gravel, and wasn't making enough water changes at first. I increased the water changes to every 3-4 days. Once I got the 3 little cories, I increased them to 2-3 days. I'm teaching myself not to overfeed the fish (betta is on different pellet foods, which he eats right away- and I give the cories catfish wafers (crushed, 'cause they're little) and think I'm finally doing ok.

I take out the chlorine/chloramides with a Waverly product, and usually add a little aquarium salt to the water, every 2 changes, or so. I have a heater set at 78 degrees, all readings are good, and the Ph is 7.4 (possibly a little higher).

My problem is- my betta has a white dot on/in each eye. It almost looks like an air bubble, but it's too obviously white. It's not filmy, and he does not have any other dots, symptoms, other that slight discoloration on his gills- but this only appears after he's been flaring a lot at his own reflection.

I don't know what to do. Could this be ich? But if it's ich, would it appear like that on both his eyes and nowhere else on him? Could it just be lighting- but I would have noticed before- there is a dot on/in (i can't really tell) each eye that wasn't there yesterday!