Newest New Newbie here

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

TeaThyme

Registered Member
Apr 14, 2022
Hello,
This is my first time posting and I have to disclose I don't have fish or anything yet. I am doing tank planning because as a child I saw my family keep fish and the parameters were usually wrong (I learned after doing more research). I know a little bit about fish keeping as I have been planning to get a betta for a while. I have a tank and some tank stuff that is not being used in my childhood home. I am currently in my senior year of college (graduating in the fall) and I am planning to have a fish(s) as a first "pet" to keep me company. I know this may be annoying to post, as I don't have fish, but any advice is helpful.

If you haven't left yet and are willing to give some advice or tips I would really appreciate it. I plan to have a betta in a 15-20 gal with coolie loaches, siamese algae eaters, Amano shrimp, and Malaysian trumpet snails. Gravel substrate and live plants are also part of my plans along with rock hides.
I wanted to ask more experienced fish keepers if the fish combination is a terrible idea or if this is too much for the size of my tank. I understand cycling and quarantining fish are important and do plan to do so with every group of fish I get. I also wanted to ask if there is anything I should add to my tank besides the basic cycle (I saw on some forums that bettas do better with tannins in the tank and that having coolie loaches will help control the population).

Rbishop

Administrator
Staff member
Dec 30, 2005
Real Name
Mr. Normal
Welcome to AC!

Check out...

fishorama

AC Members
Jun 28, 2006
SF Bay area, CA
Yes, welcome to AC. Good post Bob.

I will add that siamese algae eaters get too big for your planned tank. They grow to 5 or 6 inches, way too big for a 20g.