New sump idea help

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

what do you think is the Best general biological filter media

• Bio balls

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Ceramic rings

• Alfagrog ceramic Media

• Plastic K1 K2 K3 Media

• Other

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

Goldiefan997

AC Members
Apr 20, 2018
Hi all
I've got a 24L rectangular tank that was the original tank I had my 3 goldfish in
Now I have them in the bigger tank /225L/
I am thinking I could convert the 24 into a sump instead of using a canister filter 2000lph
I have never done this before so could anyone help me to plan the dlof rate ect the actual building I will be fine with doing my own research but I appreciate the value of experienced tips in all aspects of this
So I mostly need to know if a 24l sump will provide enough filtration I have a 1000lph as well as but I'm waiting to do this in a way that it would be enough on its own,
What flow rate would be enough I am thinking of about 3-4000lph, what media is best in a sump I currently use about 3 trays of bio media 1 of each ,sechem matrix,bio balls, and ceramic rings,
Im thinking a layer of the matrix then the balls flowing and banging around to provide biological and mechanical filtration along with maximum aeration
It's a heavily stocked tank , I have 3 fancy goldfish two Black Moors and a fantail I have fair amount of neon tetras around 30 and around 20 cherry barbs and a gibbiceps pleco