HELP! Newbie ready to give up...

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

golfnfish

AC Members
Nov 29, 2002
NoCal
Visit site
Help. I'm new to this great hobby (or so I thought) and have been having nothing but trouble. Here's my setup:

5 gal bow front (I know, should've started with bigger tank, but Gpa got this for the kids)
pH - 7.6
Ammonia - 0.0
Nitrite - 0.0
KH - 6
GH - 10
74-78 degrees
20% h20 changes every other week
several water sprites

Started the tank in August before learning about cycling, lost fish, then cycled tank, more fish lost, then things settled. But I can't seem to keep any fish alive more than 3-4 weeks. I've had neons, otos, guppies, bumble bee gobys and platys. I now know the neons and gobys weren't the best fis for a newbie. Now I've got an adult Gold Dust molly and one of her 10-day old fry along with one oto. Tonight I lost the other Gold Dust who I think was about ready to give birth. Got home from Turkey Day meal and she was pushin' up daisies. We were heartbroken.
I'm not sure what to do next. The kids really like having the tank in their room, but I'm getting tired of all the sadness.

Any advice would be welcomed.

Darkangel

AC Members
Nov 16, 2002
Oshawa, ON, Canada