Has API Proper PH 7.0 ruined my Tank?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

MP27

Registered Member
Mar 26, 2022
Hi,

I'm fairly new to the aquarium hobby. I've had my 130L (34 gallon) tank set up to around 10 weeks now and everything seemed to be going very well. Water parameters were good and the fish seemed happy. A couple of days ago I woke up and 1 of my Cherry Barbs had died suddenly, I tested the water and found that I had an ammonia spike despite doing a water change only 2 days prior. I did an emergency water change and added some Ammo-Lock and thankfully haven't lost any fish since. In my panic I also noticed my PH had dropped to 6.2 where it had normally been sitting around 7 up until this point. I saw some API proper PH 7.0 at the shop and decided to give it go I realise now, I made a BIG mistake. Turns out this shouldn't be used with live plants which I have plenty of, further more it has made my water very cloudy (which I expected).

It's been about 4 days since I used it, all my fish and plants are still alive thankfully, though they don't look all that happy. I've completed 2 x 50% water changes since and have tried some Accu-clear aswell. I have also done some maintenance on my HOB filter as it seemed a bit blocked. The cloudiness in the tank doesn't seem to be improving. I have since read up more about this product and the experiences people have had aren't good.

Is my aquarium ruined or can I save it? I'm really upset because it was going so well and I really don't want to lose any more fish or any of my plants. What should I do?

Rbishop

Administrator
Staff member
Dec 30, 2005
Real Name
Mr. Normal
Are you using a good liquid test kit? Current detailed readings on the tank? Also, on a tap water sample that has set out overnight to gas off.

How did you cycle the tank initially?