Fish Death Help!

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

kelceee

Registered Member
Nov 2, 2019
Hi all I am fairly new to the world of looking after fish!

I originally got 2 small Blackmoors from a pet store at the end of July this year - I had no idea about fish so the store person offered some advice.... which was along the lines of the idea that 2 Blackmoors would be fine in a 20L tank. I have now come to learn this was not good! I also did not get told about cycling (big whoops!). Initially I was very scared about the fish tank becoming dirty and harming the fish I did the complete opposite to what I should have done.... I would remove all the water besides about 2L, clean down the sides of the tank and clean the substrate (once again I was stupid and thought this was good practice!). All was fine... I had one case of white spots on the fish but that was it.

I started proper fish tank care about a month ago (no cleaning the tank, only doing partial water change, siphon gravel, rinse filter in tank water etc). But I fear it was too late because one week ago one blackmoor died. His symptoms were: initially bottom sitting, clamped fins, then gasping hard at the bottom with gills pumping like mad... he died a day later and he had lot almost all the colouring in his fins and had turned from black to orange/silver.

A few days later I ended up buying a tank that is 80 or 90 L I am not entirely sure now I think of it - all I know is that it is huge compared to the other one! I ended up getting a new blackmoor too. To set up this tank I transferred everything over: substrate, fake plants, filter, tank water and the first remaining blackmoor. I even got a liquid testing kit. Everything was fine for about a week and the exactly same thing happened to the original blackmoor ... it was very distressing to watch, and he died again.