Am I doing this right so far? I'm a newbie!

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

MissJillyBean

Registered Member
Oct 21, 2016
I'm working on my first vivarium, and I was hoping to get a little input! Basics, I am using a 55 long tank, I have a canister pump/filter, fogger, I have light banks but I haven't decided on the right bulbs yet. I'm currently working on the false bottom setup. The goal is about half wet/half dry. I'm going for a pacific Northwest, ferns and fog theme... So far I've got the dry hardscaping just about finished, I have the false bottom in, but before I go much farther I wanna make sure I'm not making any huge mistakes! The hardscaping is a large cork round that I cut in half, I used GS foam and carved it out, then painted with outdoor water safe acrylic paint. I used 100% silicone to seal around the cork rounds and left them hollow to run any necessary tubing or cords, I built in several net pots with drain tubed hidden under the foam for plants. I also have 2 net pots built-in to the false bottom that slide out for access should I have to mess with the substrate. I think that's everything so far, I'll post pictures so you can let me know if I made any big mistakes. 20161019_195608.jpg 20161019_195608.jpg 20161021_010600.jpg

FreshyFresh

Global Moderator
Staff member
Jan 11, 2013
West Falls NY
Real Name
Joel
I've got nothing to add other than it sounds like start of a great setup! What are your plans in terms of plants? What type of lighting? Is the tank going on a typical 55g stand?

MissJillyBean

Registered Member
Oct 21, 2016