50W heater in 3 gallon tank?

• Get the NEW AquariaCentral iOS app --> http://itunes.apple.com/app/id1227181058 // Android version will be out soon!

Moby2BettaBuddy

AC Members
May 15, 2016
Folsom CA
www.facebook.com
Real Name
Randy Henniger
Camera Used
iPhone 6s
Hi,
Newbie here with a question about heaters...I have a Fluval Spec III (2.5 gallon) tank and a 15W heater that is supposed to keep a constant 78 degree temp. But, Moby2's tank water temp varies from 72 to 82. I have ordered a Fluval E, 50W heater. Is this an overkill? I am thinking of upgrading Moby2's home to 5 gallon or maybe 10 gallon in the future, so wanted something that will support future tank size growth.

Comments, please?

Thank you!

Sep 1, 2015
Texas
Real Name
Brian
50 watts is probably overkill, but it shouldn't be any problem since that particular model, like most, auto regulates when it is on or off based on the water temperature. If you get a larger tank, that should be plenty of heating.

To address the fluctuation though, on what time scale are you seeing this variation? Is it day-to-day, or hour-to-hour? Does the room temperature vary? Is the tank opposite a window that might be sun warming it? What type of thermometer are you using to get that reading? Some variance in temperature is normal, although 10 degrees sounds like a wide range. Depending on the answers to the previous questions, it might not be a big deal but if you are going to upgrade the tank, it probably doesn't matter anyway since you are getting a new heater.

Brian

Reactions: Moby2BettaBuddy

Moby2BettaBuddy

AC Members
May 15, 2016
Folsom CA
www.facebook.com
Real Name
Randy Henniger
Camera Used
iPhone 6s
50 watts is probably overkill, but it shouldn't be any problem since that particular model, like most, auto regulates when it is on or off based on the water temperature. If you get a larger tank, that should be plenty of heating.