PDA

View Full Version : Best ICH treatment??

Gebo
01-13-2003, 10:04 PM
In your experience, what is the best ICH treatment?

morleyz
01-13-2003, 10:17 PM
85-86 degree water and 2-3Tbs of salt per gallon. Especially if it's very mild...I'm not a big fan of medicating when it can be avoided.

Matak
01-14-2003, 2:39 PM
I have heard (but I'm no expert) that ich is more an annoyance than a life threatining disease. I am definately with morleyz, if medications can be avoided, it is preferable. However, the ich medications do work if neccessary. I have also heard that ich will always be in your tank and that it is an opportunist waiting for a chance to break out. So then keeping a healthy tank = no ich.

OrionGirl
01-14-2003, 2:48 PM
ICH is NOT always present in your tank. It is a parasite, and can not go dormant for extended periods of time.

for treatment, I agree with Morleyz.

Matak
01-14-2003, 3:22 PM
Went to The Skeptical Aquarist (http://www.skepticalaquarist.com/) and read up on Ich. Surprise, surprise, the notion that ich is always resident in fish tanks is an "old wives tale" and "pure rubbish". You can read about the matter at the link above and go to: Health/ Disease/Parasites and click on the Ich link.

morleyz
01-14-2003, 6:25 PM
I second the S.A. link...he's got some great info on Ich....I wish I had thought of that.

RTR
01-14-2003, 7:57 PM
I'm in general agreement with the above except on dosage - 1 to 1 1/2 teaspoons per gallon are quite enough salt to do the job. 2-3 tablespoons per gallon could do harm to Corys, some loaches, etc.

d_b
01-14-2003, 8:09 PM
Curious won't the salt harm plants ?

Cichlid Woman
01-18-2003, 8:26 AM
In my experience, ich kills.

I've got clown loaches in my tank (sensitive to some meds), and cories, who don't handle salt well at all. I've also got plants. So ...

The best thing I've ever found for ich is Jungle's Ich Guard (the granules--not the liquid Ich Guard II, which does not work).